banner



How To Fix Unfortunately Setup Wizard Has Stopped

  1. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    Im new at rooting and modding devices and a while back i tried rooting my htc one m8. I think I successfully rooted it but i was lost as to what to do next. Everything i tried to do didnt work, and on top of that it wouldnt let me download anything (all downloads apart from play store downloads were unsuccessful). SuperSU also said it needed to update the binaries(?) and it never could.**The biggest issue was that i couldnt update and it said phone storage mounted as read only**.
    Yesterday I had the idea of flashing a stock m8 firmware or rom or whatever its called (as i said im new at this) to get it back to normal so i could start again at a later date should i choose to. I was messing around with a lot of other stuff in the bootloader(?) and whatever I did caused my phone to stop working. When i try to boot it got stuck at the htc one loading screen. I searched up and it said factory reset it, so i did, and now it comes up with setup wizard has stopped working. Whenever i click ok it comes up again. Cant get back onto my phone but I can still get into recovery and bootloader.
    If you need me to answer many questions ill do my best but i might need you to explain what it is i have to do to get it.
    The info i know is
    -My phone is unlocked
    -I dont know what version it is but from recovery it says M8_UL PVT SHIP S-ON
    -as above^ S-ON (i think ill have to get s-off to do anything but im getting lost in guides)
    -I can access teamwinproject recovery or bootloader or whichever one it is
    -I have factory reset since the issue happened
    -I have nothing in the restore folder although im sure i did a backup when i started
    -******One of the things i was clicking on was the mount subfolder, thinking if i could mount the storage not on read only or whatever then i could update. Under select partitions to mount it had system and it was unchecked under internal storage, so i checked it, but nothing loaded or anything so i wasnt sure if it did anything*******
    -******Another thing i was in was htc dumlock, although i dont remember if i tried anything. Maybe restore original boot? I have no idea what caused this problem though***
    -I can see the charge at the top when the "Unfortunately, Setup Wizard has stopped", message comes up
    -I ALSO JUST MANAGED TO CLICK ON THE MULTITASK BUTTON AFTER I CLICKED OK TO THE ABOVE MESSAGE, i can now access the camera from this multitasking thing, and in the background i can see the wallpaper. Theres also a google search bar.

    ANY HELP WOULD BE VERY APPRECIATED

    *Edit: I think the problem is that it has factory reset and can't load the usual setup. I can navigate on one page of the phone and google search (but theres no internet), and go into settings where there is "screen pinning" and "Layout" options only.



    1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!


      Download

  2. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    Im new at rooting and modding devices and a while back i tried rooting my htc one m8. I think I successfully rooted it but i was lost as to what to do next. Everything i tried to do didnt work, and on top of that it wouldnt let me download anything (all downloads apart from play store downloads were unsuccessful). SuperSU also said it needed to update the binaries(?) and it never could.**The biggest issue was that i couldnt update and it said phone storage mounted as read only**.
    Yesterday I had the idea of flashing a stock m8 firmware or rom or whatever its called (as i said im new at this) to get it back to normal so i could start again at a later date should i choose to. I was messing around with a lot of other stuff in the bootloader(?) and whatever I did caused my phone to stop working. When i try to boot it got stuck at the htc one loading screen. I searched up and it said factory reset it, so i did, and now it comes up with setup wizard has stopped working. Whenever i click ok it comes up again. Cant get back onto my phone but I can still get into recovery and bootloader.
    If you need me to answer many questions ill do my best but i might need you to explain what it is i have to do to get it.
    The info i know is
    -My phone is unlocked
    -I dont know what version it is but from recovery it says M8_UL PVT SHIP S-ON
    -as above^ S-ON (i think ill have to get s-off to do anything but im getting lost in guides)
    -I can access teamwinproject recovery or bootloader or whichever one it is
    -I have factory reset since the issue happened
    -I have nothing in the restore folder although im sure i did a backup when i started
    -******One of the things i was clicking on was the mount subfolder, thinking if i could mount the storage not on read only or whatever then i could update. Under select partitions to mount it had system and it was unchecked under internal storage, so i checked it, but nothing loaded or anything so i wasnt sure if it did anything*******
    -******Another thing i was in was htc dumlock, although i dont remember if i tried anything. Maybe restore original boot? I have no idea what caused this problem though***
    -I can see the charge at the top when the "Unfortunately, Setup Wizard has stopped", message comes up
    -I ALSO JUST MANAGED TO CLICK ON THE MULTITASK BUTTON AFTER I CLICKED OK TO THE ABOVE MESSAGE, i can now access the camera from this multitasking thing, and in the background i can see the wallpaper. There's also a google search bar.
    I think the problem is that it has factory reset and can't load the usual setup. I can navigate on one page of the phone and google search (but theres no internet), and go into settings where there is "screen pinning" and "Layout" options only.

    ANY HELP WOULD BE VERY APPRECIATED

  3. OK, I'm confused but that's OK.

    I'm going to ask some questions, you're probably going to repeat some of what you said already but I need to get things in context.

    At the top of your bootloader screen, what does it? Please share everything through the OS version.

    What version of TWRP are you running? It will say at the top of the screen.

    Does the phone boot up to run or does it hang? The thing about no Internet, etc etc, confuses me a little.

    Can you get me a listing doing what it says here -

    http://androidforums.com/threads/bricked-htc-one-m8-help-asap.904630/page-5#post-7004406

  4. I've merged your threads.

    Never cross post - it doesn't help, it just adds confusion. ;)

    I'll wait for your reply here. :)

  5. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    Thats cool thanks for your reply!

    Software status: Modfied
    Unlocked
    M8_UL PVT SHIP S-ON
    HBOOT-3.19.0.0000
    RADIO-1.25.21331147A1.06G
    OpenDSP-v48.2.2-00564-M8974_DO.1211
    OS-4.1.709.9
    eMMC-boot 2048MB

    v2.7.0.2 TWRP

    The phone boots up after the factory reset, and it gets stuck saying the Setup Wizard has stopped working. This is after it boots, but i can't access any part of my phone (basically).

  6. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    Not sure what you want me to do with what it says on that other post
  7. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    by no internet i meant i can't access internet on my phone
    Because i can't get into the settings to set up the wifi or turn on mobile data
  8. I see - you're from down under. G'day mate.

    On Telus?

    OK, so here's what I see -

    You have current radio firmware - great.

    You're unlocked - great.

    You have a very old TWRP - not ok.

    And it looks to me like you have a bad rom install - not ok.

    Get a new TWRP -

    https://dl.twrp.me/m8/twrp-2.8.6.1-m8.img.html

    Put bootloader into FASTBOOT, plug in to PC so it says FASTBOOT USB, copy that new TWRP over to where you have fastboot installed.

    In a command window say -

    fastboot flash recovery twrp-2.8.6.1-m8.img

    If you don't have a good fastboot, use ours, it's just what you need -

    http://androidforums.com/threads/adb-guide-updated-2014-11-11.443072/#post-5389081

    Unzip the sdk-tools.zip file just using Windows Explorer. It gives the sdk-tools folder - shift+right_click on that, choose open command window here, and you'll be good to go with the fastboot flash above.

    For a good rom with a reliable installer, I recommend ViperOneM8, you can get the latest here, it's version 4.3.0 -

    http://venomroms.com/htc-one-m8/

    The installer launches a wizard called the Aroma installer.

    Choose the option for a full wipe when asked.

    Choose to install the full stock rom.

    Choose for your carrier - anything like International GSM will do nicely.

    If you don't to install a rom, ok, let me know.

    The fresh install will erase your apps and data.

    Let me know if it's a problem.

  9. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    Coincidentally I installed the same sdk tools earlier this morning!
    Ill work through those steps now
  10. Of course if this works for you, you owe me some Vegemite. On crackers. With a beer. :D

    If I can't make it down, have a good thought next time you have some. :)

  11. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    okay so i have your fastboot installed, twrp-2.8.6.1-m8.img downloaded, and into the sdk tools folder (where your fastboot application is)
    I opened the application and typed the command and it says error: cannot load twrp...
  12. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    Sorry didnt read the next step. Command prompt in sdk folder part
    Its done that ill download the viperonem8 application now
  13. So ViperOneM8 zip you want to get on to the phone, and then TWRP -> Install.

    You can probably just copy it over to the phone while in TWRP. I did that earlier this morning myself.

    Don't unzip it - just put the zip on the phone - it says that it's a zip file, but it's really an installer designed to work from inside TWRP.

  14. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    downloaded the file
    How do i get the zip file onto my phone?
    I have an sd card that id use and install it from there if that will do the trick
  15. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    ok i got it on my phone using an sd card, installed from the card
    its open on viperonem8 installer
    im choosing to install viperOne
    with Wipe Data

    and the theme option to use viperone boot (coz why not :) )
    been loading for 2-3 minutes?
    Is this normal?

  16. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    Has please wait with a loading bar displayed
  17. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

  18. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    installed, phone updatd, factory reset steps done (which i am very familiar with by now (;) AND MY PHONE WORKS
    THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!

    Just a couple of questions,
    what is the status of my phone now?
    Is it rooted or unrooted?
    will apps meant to be used for a rooted phone work now?

    If not its all good I'm just curious as to whether I'll be able to try rooting my phone again in the future or whether it is already rooted.
    Thank you!!

  19. You're very welcome. :)

    Your phone is rooted.

    It's also running a very efficient Sense on steroids - many new features to discover.

    Check out Venom Tweaks in the app drawer.

    Most of the goods that you might want to go for as a rooter - ViperOneM8 has. :)

  20. And btw - as soon as you have a good basic setup, go to TWRP and do a Backup.

    And your first dividend - long press power, restart, recovery - you can now boot directly into TWRP.

    Enjoy. :)

  21. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    Thanks so much as a newbie to all this this is amazing I'm so grateful!!!
  22. And btw - make that backup before installing more root-capable apps (except Titanium Backup - that's different from a TWRP (nandroid) backup - you're going to want to use Titanium as well).

    Anyway - get the nandroid backup before adding root apps.

    Bad install or incompatible root app can lock you tighter than a drum.

    Nandroid backup is your best friend.

  23. Viper is very cool. :)

    Serious about the Vegemite. It's beer time for me now, so I'm having some. :D

  24. Jackfenton08

    Thread Starter

    ahaha

    I'm about to backup on TWRP
    I did a Titanium backup and deleted it because the file took up too much space before the nandroid backup (silly me)
    Do i need to back up system and data?
    Theres 1.5GB in system and 3.7GB in data and i cant really do both i dont have the room
    Im planning on transferring the backup to my computer to my computer to save space, should i do one then the other or is only one necessary?

  • htc one m8

Share This Page

How To Fix Unfortunately Setup Wizard Has Stopped

Source: https://androidforums.com/threads/unfortunately-setup-wizard-has-stopped-working-after-factory-reset-lots-of-background-info.923952/

Posted by: moffettciew1936.blogspot.com

0 Response to "How To Fix Unfortunately Setup Wizard Has Stopped"

Post a Comment

Iklan Atas Artikel

Iklan Tengah Artikel 1

Iklan Tengah Artikel 2

Iklan Bawah Artikel